Friday, November 12, 2010

CCPS Immigration Forum

                                                    Julie Taub      Naresh                          Salim

                                               James Bissett

I attended the Canadian Center for Policy Studies immigration conference. It had a great roster of speakers. It was a frank discussion of our failed immigration and refugee policy with some solutions suggested. We neeed to have these discussions without the usual ranting of interest groups who use the silencer word racism. Most speakers called for reductions in immigration numbers with Salim calling for an outright temporary moratorium

You can watch the Conference on CPAC today.

Thursday, November 11 at 1 AM ET / Wednesday November 10 at 10 PM PT
Thursday, November 11 at 6:30 AM ET / 3:30 AM PT
Friday, November 12 at 1:15 PM ET / 10:15 AM PT
On October 28th, 2010, in Ottawa the Canadian Centre for Policy Studies organized a symposium entitled: "Canada's Immigration & Refugee System: What's wrong and how to fix it." Julie Taub, an Immigration lawyer, discussed Canada's immigration and refugee industry.


Anonymous said...

Anecdotally you can’t help but notice in Toronto whole families arriving from China, after accumulating some wealth there. These Chinese entrepreneurs have been competing with our entrepreneurs in the global economy; they arrive here and can afford to buy upper middle class houses in the core of Toronto that our Canadian born entrepreneurs could not afford. Our guys have to buy out in the sticks and drive the kids into town to whatever private school they’ve chosen. It sounds “rich” , so it never gets discussed.

There is nothing wrong with the Chinese buying here, they’ll undoubtedly become great citizens and eventually help support our unfunded “entitlements”. But why don’t our entrepreneurs have a level playing field to begin with? Instead our entrepreneurs are over taxed paying for a Liberal nanny care society that the Chinese entrepreneur can simply hook up with after they’ve made their nest egg.

Progressives have made the individual accumulation of a nest egg a taxable sin; now we have to import the nest eggs with immigration. It’s crazy. We should simply stop making success a sin and demand a level playing field with our competition in China.

(BTW, Salim’s getting a little gray…LOL)


WD Fyfe said...

This is just an ordinary person's take on the refugee problem.

Anonymous said...

Great post.

Citizenship Test Canada

I Support Lord Black